Oct 04, 2011 - Source: IMG Reliance

Ten Sports has been signed as the national broadcast partner for the I-League 2011-2012 season by IMG Reliance.

Known for its global coverage of football, cricket and motor sport, Ten Sports’ portfolio of channels includes Ten Sports, Ten Cricket, Ten Action+.  For the 2011-2012 I-League season, Ten Sports will broadcast 75 league games live on Ten Action+.

Speaking on the initiative a spokesperson from IMG Reliance, commented, “We are happy to confirm Ten Sports as the National Broadcaster for the 2011-12 season of I-League as part of our ongoing efforts to develop the following of the sport in India. We are committed to pursuing various initiatives as part of our strategic plan to enhance the level of competition as also harness the domestic football talent in the country. Ten Sports shares our vision for the sport in India and we are delighted to partner with them in bringing football into the homes of fans across the nation.”

Atul Pande, CEO, Ten Sports, said, “We are delighted to be associated with IMG Reliance, to telecast the I-League , India’s premier’s football tournament.”   He further added,  “We are committed to bringing the best sports action to our viewers, and this new agreement with the IMG Reliance reaffirms our commitment to grow the sports business and consolidate our position as the leading sports broadcaster. Zee and Ten have been supporters of Indian football for many years and we continue committed to our vision of enhancing and adding value to the sport.”

AIFF General Secretary, Kushal Das expressed great satisfaction to have Ten Action+ as  the national broadcast partner of the I-League for 2011-12.  He added “Ten Action + is a niche football channel and I am sure the visibility and on air promotional activities of the channel will go a long way in enhancing the profile of the I-League.   Our partners IMG RIL deserve the credit for forging this significant partnership.”

The I-League kicks off on October 22, 2011 and runs until the end of April 2012.

Fourteen teams participate in the League which comprises 182 matches across 26 rounds.  Started in 2007, the I-League replaced the National Football League, which ran for 11 seasons.  The winner of the I-League qualifies for the AFC Champions League qualifying round.